Why I’d probably suck at homeschooling…

I’m one of those moms who utilizes each teachable moment I find.  I try not to bore the kids to death, but if we are doubling a pancake recipe… I think it’s a good time to talk a bit about equivalent fractions… that kind of thing.  Of course, I always encourage reading.  Especially when the 9 year old reads to the 6 year old and we all discuss… it’s perfect.  When Miranda grabbed an old copy of Aesop’s Fables off the shelf, I was impressed and happy. 

A note about this book… it’s a 1947 edition.  A lovely hard cover book in it’s own little box. 

scan0001

I thought I was gonna get maybe 20 minutes to do finish folding the laundry while my kids learned witty life lessons about foxes, crows, cheese, and flattery.  Wolves in sheep’s skins, geese laying golden eggs, etc… They’d be reading… We’d be discussing the moral to the story and seeing how it fit into our everyday human lives.  A great teachable moment.

I leave them with the book.  I commence folding.  A few minutes later I hear snickers and full blown belly laughs coming from the family room.  “Wow, they are really enjoying this book,” I think to myself.  We have a real hit on our hands.  I smile at the profound intelligence of my sweet little children. 

Ten minutes later I enter the family room.  They are still on the Table of Contents.  Their faces are flushed.  They stifle the giggles.  I must see what’s so funny.  I grab the book.

scan0002

Here’s a close up of the next page…

scan0003

There are a total of nine fables that begin with the word ASS!  A word my children clearly know the more modern meaning of.  A word that even the 6 year old can read….  Thus the giggles.  The three of us spend the next twenty minutes coming up with our own morals to the ASS stories….

If your ass casts a big shadow, you should stop eating cheesecake.

Stay away from ass eating thistle.

Be the master of your own ass.

It wasn’t quite the teachable moment I thought it was going to be.  It was good for about half an hour of solid belly laughs though!  My kids were thrilled that they got to say the “A” word as much as they wanted.  

Thanks Aesop.

3 thoughts on “Why I’d probably suck at homeschooling…

  1. Oh, I don’t know! I just can’t say that you would suck at homeschooling–with such a great attitude you’d probably be great at it and everyone would have fun! We’re going on our 11th year of homeschooling (it just doesn’t seem possible that our oldest will be 15 in September), and we’ve had plenty of silly, giggly days over language, art, nature, you name it. That’s what makes it fun!

    Warmly,
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

