Spelling

My daughter has a weekly spelling test.  One of the ways she practices her spelling words is by writing them in a sentence.  This week she started her work at school.  She was so proud that she had done them independently.  I glanced at the sentences…

A teacher is a nonprofit job. 

 The spelling word was nonprofit.  Now.. to be honest… even now when I typed this, I had to use spell check to see if it was two words, one word, or a hyphenated word.  Spelling is simply NOT one of my strengths…. so good for you little Miranda!  

Can you believe that though?  She turning this IN tomorrow, to THE TEACHER!  I know her teacher will get a total giggle out of this, just the way I did.  Really, when you think about it, it’s an absolute crime how little we pay someone who has one of the most important jobs in the world… but that’s a rant for another day.

The absolutely sweet things was her explanation when I asked her what she meant by that sentence.   She doesn’t completely understand the concept of ‘nonprofit’ at all.  She thought it meant that the person does that job just for the love of it… not simply because of the money.  Now that’s a wonderful thing to say, and so absolutely true for the overwhelming majority of teachers, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

