Teetering on the Edge of Something Big

One of the most terrifying best things about being a Mom is being a front line witness as your children try something new.   I feel their trepidation just minutes before they make their first attempt.  My heart races with theirs.  I hold my breath and muster the courage for BOTH of us.   Even when they are 40, in some way, they will still be my fuzzy-headed, helpless newborns.  But I know that someday in the future, they will teeter on the edge without me, and all the kisses and bandaids in the world won’t help if they fall. 

03-05-09_1910

In the future… the bar will be set higher.

 

06-26-08_1024

The ramp will be more steep.

 

07-04-08_1510

Life will spin faster.

 

07-27-08_1545

There will be no tethers.

 

08-27-08_12231

And their journeys will take them much further from home.

Leave a Reply

