Knit Wit

Just a wee bit of background… My mother taught me to crochet in the fourth grade.  I think I may have been home sick from school.  It’s completely in my blood now.  Honestly, I can crochet in the DARK… it’s that natural feeling for me.  My first attempt at knitting has been an exercise in confusion and frustration!!!!  I have this running commentary in my own mind.  I sort of narrate the daily happenings of my own life documentary style as I go about my business.  I almost NEVER actually speak out loud when no one is here to listen to me though.  I picked up the beginning knitting book and really took at good LOOK at it.  I read, “Wrap the yarn through the RIGHT fingers..”  What!?  An audible “nuh-uh” escaped my lips!  I think a few other words may have followed that I won’t repeat here!  I believe one of them actually rhymed with ‘duck.’  That’s how crazy having yarn wrapped around my left fingers feels. The RIGHT hand, you’ve got to be kidding me!  My heart sank.  After almost 30 years of wrapping yarn around my left hand, I knew there was no way I was going to be able to do this.  I made a cup of tea and sat down again.  I read on.  Okay… it turns out that there are TWO basic knitting styles and one of them DOES wrap the yarn around the LEFT hand!  Yea!  And I was on my way!   Continental style.

At this moment, I feel like I am trying to drive a nail through a piece of wood using two screw drivers, rather than the perfectly good hammer that’s in the tool box.  It’s so foreign feeling.  I use keep thinking, “Well, if there was a HOOK on the end of this needle, wouldn’t it be a whole lot easier to pull through?”   Hmph…  I’m getting there though. 

knit1

The other problem I’m having is understanding the diagrams.  You know the line drawings of hands… then you skip to the next one and there are a few arrows and all of a sudden the loop is supposed to be on the other needle!  How did it GET there?  It takes me at least 30 seconds to knit or purl ONE stitch.  At that rate I might have a potholder finished in two or three years.  This morning, I lovely reader gave me a link to  http://www.knittinghelp.com .  OMG!  That’s it!  Little videos!  You can see the “in between” stuff that happens from diagram to diagram.  I just knit five rows in the same time it took me to knit one stitch. Thank you thank you thank you!  You can check out Lauren’s Blog right here:  laurenallyn.blogspot.com

Thank you Lauren… you’ve absolutely saved me!

One thought on “Knit Wit

  1. I laughed out loud at your comment on the crochet needle being a much better tool! That was the same thing going through my mind when I was first learning!

    I am so glad you enjoyed her site, and that it was able to help. It really made things click for me once I watched her videos. You look like you are well on your way. YEAH! One resolution to be checked off the list.

    When you start looking for patterns, http://www.ivarose.com has copies of vintage booklets for sale from the early 1900s forward. She also has vintage tatting and crochet books too. I don’t know about you, but I love the vintage patterns.

    And when you start branching out in yarn selection, http://www.knittersreview.com has some great reviews on how certain yarns handle and knit up. Though if I had a yarn shop as close as you do, I would probably go there first.

    Congratulations on learning a new craft! Isn’t it fun?

Leave a Reply

