Resolution #1

I’m not much for making New Year’s Resolutions… but this year, I am going to try to make (and KEEP) a few.   This year I am going to learn to knit! 

knit

Yes, really… knit.  The last thing I need is another hobby.  Knitting is one of those things I’ve actually purposely avoided learning to do because I know that I’ll love it, and before you know I’ll want to spend all my free time doing it…  and really… we gotta have clean laundry and diner, and stuff like that. 

I avoid the yarn isles at the craft stores… I’m a really tactile person and I can’t resist feelingthe yarns…. and the COLORS!!!!  Ahh….  We actually have a lovely little yarn shop here in downtown Hudson.  Yep… I’ve avoided it!  Oh, I look into the windows and ogle, but I’ve never once gone inside.  They had the coolest knit and crocheted pumpkins  in the window all Autumn long….   Hand dyed, hand spun, fuzzy,  chunky, fall colored deliciousness.  I think I may have actually left a nose print on the glass.  The shop is right here……

http://www.misschickpea.com/

It’s amazing, isn’t it?  I just see myself walking into that storefront and never coming out!  But… I’m gonna do it this year.  Even though it feels a little bit like cheating… like I’m having an affair outside my bear making… I’m just gonna do it.  Look for a little report from me once I actually take the plunge and resurface.   For now though, back to the teddies!

6 thoughts on “Resolution #1

  1. I think I have yarn shop envy! We call them wool shops over here in the UK.

    I can knit, but being a bearmaker like you, there is a fear that I will be seduced by the stack of wool I’ve got and start making a pile of jumpers for bears I’ve yet to make!

    Start simple, then work your way up to different stitches.

    Have fun with it and have a Happy New Year!

    Hugs, Sarah x

  2. Kim,
    You are exactly where I was a year ago! After conquering the crochet hook and the tatting shuttle, I decided last year to teach myself to knit.

    Let me tell you it is ADDICTIVE, but oh so fun.

    I thought I would share a couple of things I stumbled on in the beginning.

    First – if you are a visual learner like I am but don’t have anyone to teach you personally, check out http://www.knittinghelp.com. It is a wonderful site with easy to understand videos. I think this site did me more good than all my beginner knitting books combined.

    Second – I think you have mentioned before that you crochet. I had trouble learning the “english” method of knitting because the yarn is held in the right hand. It just felt so foreign to me holding the yarn this way. For shuttle tatting and crochet, I hold the yarn in the left hand. I would recommend learning the “continental” method of knitting. It holds the yarn in the left hand and felt much more natural to me. Both methods are illustrated on the site above.

    I hope this helps. I have a couple of baby sweaters under my belt now. Knitting is not really that hard. Anyone who makes such detailed and gorgeous teddies as you do should have no trouble at all!

    Good Luck!

    • Hi there Lauren! Wow… you MUST read my newest post! Same exact issue… wrap the yarn through the right fingers!? I thought I was going to DIE! That website with the video clips is invaluable too! I was SO discouraged yesterday, and now I think I might actually be able to do this! You’ve saved me!

Leave a Reply

