Beatrice….

****UPDATE : BEATRICE IS NO LONGER AVAILABLE****

Okay, here’s the post where my readers get to see that yes, I am a little bit… just a little bit nuts.  Those of you who are also teddy lovers, this will make absolute sense to you!  I LOVE to pretend that my little bears are real.  Especially the miniatures.  I see them as the tiny mythical type creatures that you might find lurking in your garden if you had a really great imagination.  You know…. like a fairy or a little hedgehog that talks and wears clothes.  So, when I get a chance to photograph them, I just love to take pictures of them in what I’d consider their “natural habitat,” the garden, the trees, etc… 

When I was a little girl, I really did believe, or at least I hoped, that when you walked out of a room, your dolls and toys might come to life and play.  One of my biggest hopes was that I’d catch them, just once.  I’d spend quite some time arranging everybody so they’d look like they were caught right in the middle something.  Then I’d shut the door and wait on the other side.  Of course, then I’d quickly open the door and if they were moving… or if anyone had changed their position, etc… I swear, a couple of times I think I talked myself into believing that I DID see someone move.  Just a little twitch out of the corner of my eye… but it COUNTED!  Yes it did. 

I think a big part of what I do now with the bear making is just an extension of that childhood dream…. to make something that looks REALLY real, and catch them, just once…

Click on the below link to visit Beatrice’s auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260237880962

4 thoughts on “Beatrice….

  1. Kim, I love Beatrice! And I have to say that as a kid I wanted my stuffed animals and dolls to come alive, too. Gosh, I may have to write a blog post about it…I used to have a really hard time putting something with a face into a bag to go up in the attic for storage. I thought it hurt their feelings! And I’ll bet I’m not the only one who felt that way!

    I love the photos you take, as if your creations are real, in their habitat. That’s part of their charm. 🙂

    ~Debora

  2. Well, I can totally relate. I knit stuffed animals, and as they are growing on the knitting needles, they develop personalities, and names, and sometimes naughty little behaviours.
    Your teddys are beautiful.
    :0)

  3. Thank you so much ladies!!! And, I’ll tell you the three of US are in good company. I received like 15 eMails from folks who feel the same way and we’re sure how to post a comment! YEA!

Leave a Reply

