I am SO not a dirty girl….

 

….though I swear, I absolutely HATE cleaning!  Aside from just hating the act itself, I always feel like my face is going to melt off when I use harsh cleaning products.   My hands itch, and I swear… I can’t smell right for a couple of days after using Tilex!  Ick.  I need extra motivation to clean!  What works for me?   Well for a couple of years I’ve been using Mrs. Myers products:

http://www.mrsmeyers.com/?gclid=CKKil5Da3o4CFTyKOAodAH8lQQ

I LOVE the Geramium scent, and they come in these neat vintage looking bottles!  They have nice stuff for kids and pets as well! 

Lately I’ve been picking  up the Method brand cleaning stuff as well.  Fabulous aromatherapy fragrances, and they are biodegradable, non-toxic, and NOT tested on animals to boot.  They have a lemon-ginger floor cleaner that is nothing sort of heavenly! 

http://www.methodhome.com/products.php?cat=type&type=omop&prod=non-toxic_floor_cleaner

The products do cost a bit more than their stinky cousins, but they make the process oh so much more enjoyable!

4 thoughts on “I am SO not a dirty girl….

  1. Great idea Kim, they look great products, I am just the same as you, hate cleaning and feel ill after with chest wheezing and itching with all the products (and probably a little bit alergic to the idea of cleaning). They might be more expensive products but its still cheaper than paying a cleaner!!

    Warm wishes
    Pauline

  2. Hi Pauline! I’ve had some really nasty incidents with cleaning products… passing out, hives, all kinds of yuck. I tried making my own with baking soda, soap, vinegar… less chemicals than the heavy duty stuff, but I was spending as much time mixing the stuff up as cleaning! Fancy cleaning products are my one true splurge… and yes, much less expensive than hiring someone to come in and do it for me!

  3. I can relate. The smell of cleaning products can really affect you. And if you happen to use a combination that doesn’t work well together – watch out!

    I’ll have to check out Mrs. Myers products. Thanks for the suggestion.

  4. Teresa… SO true! If you clean the mirror with an ammonia based product, and then use the same rag to wipe off the counter with a bleach based product… the fumes can truly knock you right down on your patootie!

    Kim

Leave a Reply

