Scrapbooking vs. Shoeboxing

 

Okay, I’m just going to admit it… I don’t do scrapbooking.  The other day at the craft store, I was looking for a parchment type paper for a little side project that I have in mind.  I do love paper, I just don’t scrapbook.  I see a woman that I know from my daughter’s school.  Can’t think of HER name, so I call out, “Olivia’s Mom.”  She responds with an ever so pleasant, “Miranda’s Mom!”  So we are chatting away in the paper isle, and she asks if I’m working on a special scrapbook page.  My blood goes cold, and I know that if I am to be honest, I am going to have to admit it.  I don’t scrapbook.  Don’t get the wrong idea, I think that scrapbooking is fabulous.  My Mom has beautiful Family Albums that document our entire lives.  We looked through them often enough that I can hear her voice like a narrator as I turn each page.  “This is when your father was in the Navy…. our first house.”  “This is the day you decided to eat one of my petunias.”  Truly treasured memories.  I wish I had the inclination to make a beautiful album!  Unfortunately…. my photos are all in shoe boxes!  And I feel just awful about it.   Really, it makes me feel guilty.  I’m a “shoeboxer.”    Worse yet… now that most of my photos are digital, and shared via the internet with friends and family… I have like 10 CD’s FULL of photos that I’ve never even printed out in tangible form!  Pray tell, how does one get motivated to start a project like this.  Where would I even begin?

2 thoughts on “Scrapbooking vs. Shoeboxing

  1. Oh Kim, I truly have found a kindred spirit!
    I don’t scrapbook either (not that there’s anything wrong with that;o)and sometimes I feel like the only person on the planet that doesn’t. I just haven’t been bitten by the bug. The good thing about being a ‘shoeboxer’ is if you keep taking pictures…you get to buy more shoes (just for the boxes of course!)
    Cheryl

  2. he he he…I’m giggling out loud over here! Just about a week after you posted this I do a scrap booking post on my blog…talking about how I’m going to break the “boxing” cycle! It’s funny how many of us are always on the same page with this stuff! If you “want” to do a book…the key for me anyway…was taking on 1…only 1 subject. If I had to do family, friends, vacations, pets…I’d never touch it. Baby steps for “picture boxers”…baby steps 🙂
    -giggle-

    HUGS,
    Chrissi 🙂

Leave a Reply

