What’s in a Name?

People frequently ask me about the origin of my business name, Wild Thyme Orignals.  As a trade name, it’s been with me since about 2000, but it’s been in my life for a lot longer than that.  When I was a little girl, my mother gave me a book of Shakespeare for youngsters.  The book had belonged to her as a child in 1956.  It was wildly abridged, but quite appropriate for a child of 9.  In it was a marvelous chapter called “A Midsummer Night’s Dream.”  What I remember most about this book was an illustration of a beautiful, gossamer fairy crading the neck of a half donkey, half man.  What?  I was fascinated!  I can still see the picture when I close my eyes and think back… And a few words stuck fast in my mind as well…

     I know a bank where the wild thyme blows,
     Where oxlips and the nodding violet grows
     Quite over-canopied with luscious woodbine,
     With sweet musk-roses, and with eglantine:
     There sleeps Titania some time of the night,
     Lull’d in these flowers with dances and delight.
     “A Midsummer-Night’s Dream” (2.1.260-5) 

I’ve seen the Fairy Queen’s resting place in my imagination over and over again since then.  I think it’s the place I’d most like to be if I could go anywhere real or imaginary….

Leave a Reply

